Cathcart Main Page Ireland Page... find County Antrim from here Main Logo

State FlagSouth Carolina
   Main page 

General Information and Links



Modern County Map

SC Map

Click on county for individual county page


1816 Map

Hover mouse over area to see District name, click District for details.


Click "S. Carolina" above for scalable map (David Rumsey Collection)...

Other Maps


County, District and Parish History

Basic County & District Information

South Carolina's geographical subdivisions (counties, districts, and parishes) have changed, morphed into new entities, disappeared… making the job of interpreting genealogical records quite challenging.  What follows is a brief description of this part of South Carolina history.

1747 note counties from Granville in the South to Craven in the north


Throughout the colonial period, until 1769, counties were used to describe basic divisions of the colony.  Generally, their borders started at the Atlantic coast and proceeded north-westward into the interior.

Sixteen South Carolina counties no longer exist: Craven (1664-1768), Carteret (1684-1708), Granville (1708-1768), Granville (1785-1798), Bartholomew (1785-1791), Claremont (1785-1800), Hilton (1785-1791), Lewisburg (1785-1791), Lincoln (1785-1798), Marion (1785-1791), Orange (1785-1791), Shrewsbury (1785-1798), Washington (1785-1791), Winton (1785-1791), Salem (1792-1800), and, Pendleton (1800-1826).

Four counties were reestablished after disappearing for a while: Berkeley County (1682-1768), resurrected and existed from 1785 to 1791, then abolished again, finally resurrected again in 1882 and continues to the present; Charleston County (1785-1791), resurrected in 1800 and continues to the present; Clarendon County (1785-1800), resurrected in 1855 and continues to the present; Colleton County (1785-1791), resurrected in 1800 and continues to the present.

Four were renamed: Kingston (1785-1801) was renamed to Horry County; Liberty (1785-1798) was renamed to Marion County; Spartan (1785-1791) was renamed to Spartanburg County; and, Winyah (1785-1800) was renamed to Georgetown County.


In 1769 Circuit Court districts were established (Beaufort, Camden, Charleston, Cheraw, Georgetown, 96, Orangeburg, Pendleton, Pinckney, and Washington), and in 1785 each overarching district included several counties each.

Bartholomew County

Camden District

Carteret County

Charleston District1785 Bartholomew


Cheraw District Cheraw






Claremont CountyClaremontCounty



Craven County




Georgetown District





Granville County (1708-1768)


Hilton County1785 Hilton




Orangeburg District




Pinckney District1791Pinckney

Pinkney District




Ninety-Six District1785 SC 96

Salem County

Washington County


Washington District

Parishes of South Carolina

1760 Map showing locations of Counties and Parishes

Anglican Parishes

Individual Parishes (links to wiki pages)

All Saints | Christ Church | Prince Frederick | Prince George | Prince William | St. Andrew's 
St. Bartholomew's | St. David's | St. George Dorchester | St. Helena's
St. James Goose Creek | St. James Santee | St. John's Berkeley | St. John's Colleton
St. Luke's | St. Mark's | St. Matthew's | St. Michael's | St. Paul's | St. Peter's | St. Philip's
St. Stephen's | St. Thomas and St. Denis 



Individual County Pages

Select from the box below, or use the map above.